What do you do when an old lady asks to share your bed?

Tuesdays are often Mondays for me, as they are the first day of the week that I work in a proper office environment. When I work from home (which I didn’t do yesterday – work, that is), the fact that I’m wearing pyjamas or something equally casual while being productive never fails to mess me up.

I actually really have no idea why I wrote that. Truly. None.

Anyway, a friend’s elderly mother just phoned me and asked me if she could come visit me for a week, and wouldn’t mind sharing my bed if there was no space for her.

Ahem.

After a moment of dumbstruck silence, I politely told her that she had dialed the wrong DBAWIW –  a fact I established when she mentioned a name I did not recognise; someone who was perhaps a friend or relative of the person my friend’s mom had meant to call. Shame, she sounds quite desperate to get out of town.

Went to Clarens this weekend for a bit of a break of Jo’burg. There is much to love about it, and my top three reasons are as follows. In Clarens, one does not hear persistently barking dogs; one does not hear persistently crying babies,; and one does not hear persistently partying neighbours. Viva having enough space to enjoy the silence. Here are some pics:

Is it 1839?

View

More view

Evil bunny that growled and charged at Woofles, proving my assertion that rabbits are horrid.

Morty showing her appreciation of a print I bought of cats doing feline things. No it’s not a poster of LOL Cats (though I am an unshamed fan of LOL Cats and would *totally* get Morty to do LOL Cat stuff if she didn’t bite me so damn much).

14 Responses to What do you do when an old lady asks to share your bed?

  1. Charmskool says:

    So much of stuff for comment. Firstly, I think if I worked in my pyjamas it would mess with my head – and I’d stop loving my jammies. Then, what would you have said if the old dame who wanted to share your bed HAD been the mom of a friend. How do you say N*O* spells no without causing all sorts of faribles? and C (ha ha did you see I made a funny?) Clarens looks wonderful. I love quiet places with good scenery. Bunnies are lovely – just don’t piss them off.

  2. Don't Believe a Word I Write says:

    Charm, sorry, I don’t think I explained myself well enough…the old dame *IS* the mother of my pal…and she lives with my pal, who lives directly below me in the same complex, making it all the more strange that she’d want to move upstairs for a week. If she really had wanted to share my bed, it would have been utterly hilarious owing to the fact that she is a devout Christian, and I seriously doubt she approves of lady-lovin’.

    You made a good funny, though, honestly, BUNNIES?? They suck, Charm.

  3. Louisa says:

    Just say no Don’t believe…as you did. Well done. That must truly be one of the weirdest calls to get ever. Clarens looks lovely and peaceful.

  4. Black Dog says:

    I swear this post made me feel like I was watching an episode of DEAD LIKE ME.

    Is that George in the second photo?

  5. Don't Believe a Word I Write says:

    Ha ha Louisa, I’ll never be able to look at her the same way again. Most def one of the odder situations I’ve been presented with. As for Claren, so lovely! Get thee and a mate or two there for a break, you’ll be so pleased you did.

  6. Don't Believe a Word I Write says:

    Black dog… Hey!!!! Isn’t it just like Dead Like ME?!?! You’ve always said my life could provide some material for the show.

    Indeed, that is George in the second photo…looking almost but not quite alive. 😀 😀

  7. HotGuy43 says:

    I recognise the individual in the second photo, and his name ain’t George. Really, DBAWIW, why put the picture up at all if you’re going to lie about it? That’s Fred, no doubt.

    I absolutely loved the headline of this piece, DBAWIW, but then you probably knew I would. Your pal’s mother wouldn’t by any chance be Angela Lansbury? 🙂

  8. Don't Believe a Word I Write says:

    LoL, FRED! Of course, silly of me to forget. Thanks for setting me straight, HotGuy.

    You KNOW that if she were Angela Lansbury, I would have told you immediately so that you could stalk her. And I would have moved out as quickly, knowing how murder seems to follow that lady. Did you made it through all 47 seasons of ‘Murder She Wrote’, HotGuy?

  9. Tamara says:

    Now I have the theme song for Murder She Wrote in my head. Damnit.

    Clarens = awesome. Sharing a bed with an old lady = less so.

  10. DBAWIW says:

    Agreed re Clarens and the old lady. I’ve not had any further overtures from her since The Call. She gave up pretty easily, wouldn’t you say?

    HAHAHAHAHA, ‘Murder She Wrote’…do do do do do, do do do, do do…. yeaaaaah, doesn’t quite translate. Don’t you think a version of the tune with lyrics – perhaps ol’ Angie Lansbury singing it herself – would be cool?

  11. Tamara says:

    I dunno. If the Spanish can go without lyrics in their national anthem, I think Murder She Wrote can too. Besides, Angela has the whole soundtrack of Bedknobs and Broomsticks to sing to. Did you ever see that? Was one of my favourite movies as a kid.

  12. Don't Believe a Word I Write says:

    I didn’t see it. I regret it now, especially if Angela played a singing bedknob … or even a singing broomstick. Either I’d be happy with.

  13. HotGuy43 says:

    Angie was a more than competent singer back in the day, but even she might have been defeated by the Murder She Wrote theme. 🙂

    I actually watched Bedknobs and Broomsticks again for the first time in years a few months back. After all, I’ve got to do something until I get my hands on the final season of Murder She Wrote.

  14. Don't Believe a Word I Write says:

    Ha hahahahaah. HotGuy, I am not entirely sure why but your image of Angie having a full go at trying to sing a crazy number of lyrics to the Murder She Wrote tune, had me laughing out loud. THANKS! 🙂

Leave a comment